Argentina's Independence Day

Independence of Argentina was declared on July 9, 1816 by the Congress of Tucumán. In reality, the congressmen that were assembled in Tucumán declared the independence of the United Provinces of South America, which is still today one of the legal names of the Argentine Republic. The Federal League Provinces, at war with the United Provinces, were not allowed into the Congress. At the same time, several provinces from the Upper Peru that would later become part of present-day Bolivia, were represented at the Congress.

Argentina was discovered by European explorers in the 16th century. Historians have long debated whether Amerigo Vespucci, Juan Diaz de Solis, Ferdinand Magellan or Sebastian Cabot landed and laid claim to the land.

Argentina was divided into different areas until 1776. Over the next 50 years, the land that came to make up Argentina were gradually reunited. On April 15, 1814, a revolution declared that a General Congress be assembled. Representing 15,000 people from each province, a delegate deputies were chosen to meet on March 24, 1816. With 33 deputies, the General Congress assembled in the city of Tucuman.
Argentina’s independence movement began in earnest on May 25, 1810, which is celebrated as Revolution Day. That date marked the beginning of a long, protracted military struggle, fought under the leadership of the revolutionary and military strategist Gen. José de Martin born in 1778 and who died in 1850. He was regarded as the father of his country.

July 9, 1816 was an important turning point. On this day, the Congress of Tucuman passed a resolution declaring independence from Spain of the Provincias Unidas de America del Sur which also included Uruguay, Paraguay and Bolivia. Juan Martin de Pueyrredon was declared supreme director.