Independence Day Of Venezuela 2021 July 5

Independence Day Of Venezuela 2021: July 5

Independence Day, also known as the Fifth of July, is the national independence holiday of Venezuela, marked every year on July 5, which celebrates the anniversary since the enactment of the 1811 Venezuelan Declaration of Independence, making the country the first Spanish colony in South America to declare independence.

In recent years, it is also marked as National Armed Forces Day to honor the faithful service of all the serving men and women and veterans of Venezuela’s National Bolivarian Armed Forces.

The other independence holiday is on 19 April, honoring the declaration of a local junta in Caracas on 19 April 1810, launching the road towards the First Republic of Venezuela and the start of the independence struggle. To learn more about independence day of Venezuela, Keepincalendar put together everything you need to know.

Independence Day of Venezuela

Venezuela officially called the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, is a tropical country on the northern coast of South America.

Independence Day of Venezuela

With a glorious history of more than 15,000 years, the country of Venezuela has made significant developments in the fields of science, politics, and technology over the last few decades.

Officially known as the ‘ Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela,’ this country is situated on the South American continent.

Like other festivals, Independence Day of Venezuela is celebrated with equal zest and festive fervor, which falls on July 5 every year. It’s been noticed that different factors have led to the emergence of Venezuela as an independent nation.

Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

The Venezuelan Declaration of Independence is a statement adopted by a congress of Venezuelan provinces on July 5, 1811, through which Venezuelans decided to separate from the Spanish Crown to establish a new nation based on the premises of equality of individuals, abolition of censorship, and dedication to freedom of expression.

These principles were enshrined as a constitutional principle for the new nation. They were radically opposed to the political, cultural, and social practices that had existed during three hundred years of colonization.

Seven of the ten provinces belonging to the Captaincy General of Venezuela declared their independence. They explained their reasons for this action, among them, that it was baneful that a small European nation ruled the great expanses of the New World, that Spanish America recovered its right to self-government after the abdications of Charles IV and Ferdinand VII at Bayonne, and that the political instability in Spain dictated that Venezuelans rule themselves, despite the brotherhood they shared with Spaniards.

The seven provinces were Caracas Province, Cumaná Province, Barinas Province, Margarita Province, Barcelona Province, Mérida Province, and Trujillo Province.

The three remaining provinces (Maracaibo Province, Coro Province, and Guayana Province) that did not participate in the Venezuelan congress opted to stay under Spanish rule.

The declaration proclaimed a new nation called the American Confederacy of Venezuela and was mainly written by Cristóbal Mendoza and Juan Germán Roscio. It was ratified by Congress on July 7, 1811, and recorded in the Congress’s Book of Minutes on August 17, 1811, in Caracas.

Independence Day

The anniversary of this declaration is celebrated as Independence Day. The original Book of Minutes of the First Congress of Venezuela is in the Federal Legislative Palace in Caracas.

The document is kept at the museo de la Casa de las Primeras Letras Simón Rodríguez. The signature of president Hugo Chávez was added to the document on May 31, 2013.

Read also:

Holiday customs

The day is spent with family bonding with friends and relatives and in either outdoor and indoor activities. All government offices and schools are closed, as are some private enterprises save for commercial establishments.

Holiday customs

In the morning, the National Assembly holds a televised special session to honor the holiday wherein the declaration is publicly read, in remembrance of the work of the deputies of the Constituent Congress of 1811 who made the word possible.

Holiday celebrations and parades are also held in many state capital cities, with the state government as the principal guest.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *